Thunder Thursdays…Spicing Up: Vegetarian Sausage, Goat Cheese, and Arugula Stuffed Peppers

It begins.  The smell of fresh rain in the air, the flash of lightning, and rumble of thunder.  Summer storm season in the South.  We’ve been getting quite a few summer storms lately and I seem to be spending time bouncing between raindrops, and a few downpours.

And bouncing around what I’ll make for dinner. It happens to the best of us. I was not on top of my game with my usual planned out week of meal plans, so I’ve been winging it tremendously this week.

The hubs has online class tonight so he was sequestered away in the office, and I faced a refrigerator where I MIGHT have not been to the grocery store lately so it looks a little on the sparse side. This is forced though – I’m trying to adhere to “use it, don’t lose it” to avoid food waste. So far I’ve pulled together quite a few meals using what I’ve got.

Any ideas how YOU keep all your food cycling through and minimal waste besides meal planning?  Would love suggestions.

Tonight I had a new item to work with from our food co-op bin.  Vegetarian Sausage.   I had passed over the package in the freezer for a while since I couldn’t wrap my brain around what I wanted to do with it.  However, found a good one to work with this time.  Without sounding too market-driven…YOU MUST TRY IT. It is from Twin Oaks Tofu. It is an italian breakfast-style sausage.  I believe it is a win since Morningstar discontinued their veggie sausage crumbles, I’ve been without a decent substitute.  No more!  Will definitely use this one again.

I scanned the usual recipes of pasta, pasta(again), stuffed peppers, lasagna…wait, Sausage, Arugula & Goat Cheese Stuffed Peppers?? I have that Trifecta!  I have to say I related to this blogger, she had developed this recipe after a similar dilemma of what’s in the fridge and how can we use it?  It was fate — or Pinterest. Either way, I was hooked.  I also need to confess I am NOT a lover of the Stuffed Pepper.  For some reason the usual mix of meat, rice, tomato, etc. just doesn’t do it for me.  I avoid it a lot, and in this case tonight, was willing b/c it was different from the “usual.”  And I had run out of time.Sausage, Goat Cheese, and Arugula Stuffed Peppers

After duplicating my recipe of a beet, arugula, and goat cheese dish this past week, I had some extra leftovers in the arugula and goat cheese and from that dish knew this could fit “thunder thursday.”

(insert a lightning bolt here)

Without further adieu, the main event.

 

 

Vegetarian Sausage, Goat Cheese, and Arugula Stuffed Peppers
(adapted from a recipe by Cooks Like a Champion)

Ingredients

2 medium bell peppers, halved lengthwise, seeds and ribs removed

1-2 tsp. coconut oil

16 oz. of Twin Oaks Tofu Vegetarian Breakfast-style Sausage (or another veggie sausage or regular sausage of your choice)

2 oz goat cheese, softened

2 large handfuls of arugula

1/8-1/4 cup diced leeks, to taste

Red pepper flakes, to taste

3 tsp freshly grated Parmesan

*Her recipe calls for salt, pepper but this was already enough seasoning and flavor in the veggie sausage so I omitted.  I also

Directions

Heat oven to 400º.

Cut up your peppers, leeks, and set aside.  Heat coconut oil in a skillet and sauté leeks and red pepper flakes.  Add your sausage and crumble and cook until it browns.  In my case, I just needed to crumble and brown.

Preparing the Sausage, Goat Cheese, Arugula Stuffed Peppers

Reduce your heat and mix in the arugula and goat cheese.  So easy – it will wilt and melt.  Simple.  Spoon your prepared filling into the pepper halves, arrange in a glass Pyrex dish or baking sheet and slide into the oven.  Bake 12-15 minutes.  Serve.

SO easy. I don’t know this blogger, but she became my she-ro/hero tonight.  The hubs loved it.  I loved it.  By thunder, I think we like it!

It is officially a keeper.

Leave a Reply

