When Take-Out becomes Take-In: A Tale of Beef and Broccoli

I love Chinese food. I know it isn’t super-healthy but I can pretty much find an excuse to order those tiny paper boxes and plastic containers filled with yumminess. Moo goo gai pan, sesame chicken, shrimp fried rice, buddha vegetables and bean curd, mongolian beef, moo shu pork…the list goes on!

chinese take-out box

However, our recent move to more cost-efficiency (aka saving money not eating out as much) has led to less of those beautiful white take-out boxes and fortune cookies. The plus is our health is on track and we are actually saving money. But I miss the take-out…Until I saw the pin for this beef and broccoli. It was gorgeous – step by step instructions, ingredients I already had (no fancy outrageous ingredient not in my kitchen), and we needed something fun for a Friday night where we would stay in and not succumb to the crowds, or spending money.

image

Plus, it looked real and the recipe said it was “just like take-out. SOLD!  I followed it pretty much to the “T” – I did cut back my soy sauce (I just couldn’t do 1/2 a cup so did 1/4 and 1/4 sub of vegetable broth).  It tasted JUST like it came out of the pretty white take-out boxes!   It was a true winner and will join the rotation in our house – Thanks Rainy Day Gal!

“Take-In” Beef and Broccoli  (Adapted from Rainy Day Gal’s Beef and Broccoli recipe. I recommend going to hers first and then reading this one and feel free to change to your liking– the original is spot on perfect!)

Step 1:  Marinate your beef!

Combine 1/2 tsp. baking soda, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp. cornstarch (I use Bob’s Red Mill Potato Cornstarch). Add in and whisk together 1/2 tbs. soy sauce, 1 1/2 tbs. water, 1-2 tbs. oil.  Slice your flank steak – I had 1 lb of sirloin tip steak and cut into small cubes. Marinate covered about an hour in your fridge I did this for about 35-40 min and it still worked out!

Step 2: Slice and prep your broccoli, the sauce, stir-fry set-up, and prep rice

Slice up 2 full crowns of broccoli fresh is so good here.  Get your rice going.  Make your sauce this is the good stuff!  Sauce: 1/4 c. soy sauce, 1/4 c. veggie broth, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 tbs cooking sherry (I added brandy b/c i ran out of cooking sherry-doh!), 2 tbs flour, 2 tbs brown sugar.  Mix together and set aside.  Add 1-1/2 tbsp of vegetable oil to a sauté pan and when sizzling, stir-fry your broccoli for 2-3 min.  I usually go for 2 and check so I don’t overcook.  Remove broccoli to a plate and table while you cook your beef.

Step 3:  Stirfry and Serve!

Can you believe we are at the last steps already?  Saute your beef until it no longer pink in 1 tbs of oil and some of your sauce.  Once cooked add in broccoli and the rest of sauce, cook and try to stand the amazing deliciousness cooking in front of you.  Dish out rice on plates and ladle the yummy delight of beef and broccoli over your rice.  SERVE.

We didn’t have any fortune cookies but I swear my husband looked around for the little white container…Thanks Rainy Day Gal for a true HOME RUN!

Leave a Reply

