#The100DayProject: Celebrating Cheese – National Grilled Cheese Day (and some Andean Potato and Cheese Soup)

andean potato and cheese soupAfter another productive day of working in the yard clearing our version of “The Jungle” (an overgrown corner next to the shed) I needed simple, easy and tasty.  Plus, I wanted to use some of the ingredients I’ve worked into the meal plan this week sticking with #the100dayproject – and use the leftovers I had from the weekend!

Since we didn’t use all the grilled potatoes and the cheese dip from our Fiesta Friday and Sizzling Saturday, I found this delectable South American recipe for Andean Potato and Cheese Soup (Locro de Papa).  It was simple, easy and after adding a few of my own spices won our palates over.  I also added a simple grilled cheese sandwich with my leftover provolone and rye bread.  I added some spicy mustard to give the sandwich some edge and dinner was complete.

Where did my meal planning come into play?  Black beans.  This week I’ll be using in some slow cooker enchiladas and had some extra so I experimented with this from my darling lemon thyme.  I’ll include the black bean brownies in a later post but I can share that they are winners!

Andean Potato and Cheese Soup (Locro de Papa) adapted from The Kitchn Andean Potato and Cheese Soup 

Serves 6 to 8

1/2 to 1 tsp. olive oil

1-2 , diced shallots

3 fist-sized new red potatoes diced

1 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons turmeric

1 tsp chili powder

4 cups chicken stock
2 cups mixed frozen vegetables
6 ounces (1 well-rounded cup) queso fresco, cubed
1 cup heavy cream
Salt
Pepper

Warm a teaspoon or two of olive oil in a large pot (at least 5 quarts) over medium-high heat. Add the shallot and cook until translucent and just starting to turn golden-brown, 5 to 8 minutes. Add the potatoes and 1/4 teaspoon salt, and cook until the edges of the potatoes are beginning to soften, another 5 minutes.

Clear a space in the middle of the pan and add the garlic, turmeric, and chili powder. Cook until the garlic is fragrant, about 30 seconds, then stir into the onions and potatoes. Add the stock to the pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer the soup until the potatoes are tender, 10 to 15 minutes.

Add the frozen veggies, queso fresco, and heavy cream to the soup. Bring back to a simmer (do not boil) and cook until tender, another 5 minutes. Taste and add salt and pepper as needed.

This soup will keep refrigerated for a week.

Leave a Reply

