#The100DayProject: Rainy Day Corn and Yellow Squash Chowder (How to Remedy a Drizzly Sunday)

After a series of crazy bad thunderstorms through the Atlanta area this week, including one last night which kept us wide awake, today yielded a drizzly and rainy Sunday which seemed to cancel any outdoor plans.

I busied myself with menu planning (yay for weekly fun), plus a brief inventory on what needed using up fast early so I could have a few meals on tap.  I rummaged in my produce drawer and found a lonely yellow squash and two sorry-looking ears of corn which didn’t make it to the grill last week – thank you, rain.  I also am in the end stages of clearing out the last of my leftover ham – this is yet another meal yielding from the big ham I roasted and froze my leftovers.  Feeling a little procrastination and an ounce of creativity, I decided to tackle the squash and corn while I could.

I found this delicious and easy recipe for Two of a Kind’s Summer Squash and Corn Chowder and after some minor prep now have this simmering on the back of the stove for some lunch today and leftovers this week.  AND bonus, no elimination of old vegetables.  When I had completed the prep my soup needed a little thickening so I used Ree Drummond’s suggestion of some cornmeal mixed in with water and it has made the soup much thicker and more “chowder-y.”

Bon appetit!  (And back to the meal planning…)

Recipe adapted from Two of A Kind Cooks

SUMMER SQUASH AND CORN CHOWDER
Rainy Day Corn and Yellow Squash Chowder

Makes 4 servings
INGREDIENTS
1/4-1/2 cup diced/shredded leftover ham
¾ cup thinly sliced green onions, divided
¼ cup diced celery
1 pound yellow summer squash, diced
1⅓ cups sweet yellow corn – slice off the cob into a bowl, easy!
1¼ cups milk/cream/chicken broth (I used a combo of chicken broth and about a 1/4 cup cream)
1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

INSTRUCTIONS
In a large pot, shred ham and cook on medium heat until fat renders and ham crisps. Remove and set aside.  Using the rendered ham fat, Add ½ cup green onions, celery and summer squash and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 8 minutes.Use a sharp knife to shave off kernels from corn cob. Add corn kernels to pot and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes or until heated through.
In a blender, purée thawed corn and 1/2 cup milk/broth mixture until smooth. Add remaining 1¼ cups milk, thyme, salt and pepper and pulse a few times until well combined. Add mixture to pot. Remove soup from heat and season with added salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately with remaining green onions, cheddar cheese and cooked ham.

I bet this would taste delicious with the bacon recommended in the original recipe, however, since I’m doing the “no waste” in my kitchen, I needed to use what I had.  I also as you will see in my picture, got the lazies and just mixed in the ham.  We had some parmesan-reggiano cheese so i shaved some of that into our bowls and WOW, just yum.  Happy Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

